Untitled Document
Tourism Authority of Thailand, Malaysia
TourismThailand.my | The Official Website for Tourism Authority of Thailand, Malaysia
TAT Malaysia Home | TourismThailand.my TAT WebMail Contact MHS MHS Sitemap

Visa Details | Tourism Authority of Thailand
Untitled Document

Untitled Document
Travel & Transport
Thailand travel is convenient for visitors as there are many ways to get to Thailand and even more ways to travel in Thailand, whether your destination is Bangkok, Phuket, Chiang Mai, or the most remote provinces.
Travel and Transportation  
aero Airlines
aero Bus & Coach
aero Private Charters
aero Train
aero Visa Details


On arrival at Thailand Immigration

Upon arrival in Thailand, foreign citizens must hold a valid passport with at least six months validity, a valid Thai visa, and proof on onward travel. However, visitors from ASEAN or Western countries, including most European, Commonwealth, and North American citizens, are not required to have a Thai visa for visits less than 30 days in Thailand.  They will be granted access through Thailand immigration with a 30 Thai visa waiver, provided upon arrival. After such time, a Thai visa extension from an immigration office or a Thailand visa from an embassy or consulate outside of Thailand is required.

  Untitled Document
Transportation | Flight  
Transportation | Bus & Coach  
Transportation | Train  
Transportation | Private Charters  
  Tourist Visa Exemption  

- According to the Interior Ministerial Announcements dated 1 October B.E. 2545 (2002), 20 December B.E. 2545 (2002), 18 October B.E. 2547 (2004), 6 May B.E. 2548 (2005), and 23 June 2554 (2011), passport holders from 48 countries and 1 special administrative region - Hong Kong SAR - are not required to obtain a visa when entering Thailand for tourism purposes and will be permitted to stay in the Kingdom for a period of not exceeding 30 days on each visit. If such foreigners enter the Kingdom at the immigration checkpoints which border neighboring countries, they will be allowed to stay for 15 days each time, except Malaysian nationals who cross the borderline from Malaysia whose granted period of stay will not exceed 30 days each time.

- Please note that Tourist Visa Exemption does not apply to foreigners holding Travel Document for Aliens issued by these countries.

- Foreigners entering Thailand under the Tourist Visa Exemption category must possess adequate finances for the duration of stay in Thailand (i.e., cash 10,000 Baht per person and 20,000 Baht per family).

1. Australia : Commonwealth of Australia

2. Austria : Republic of Austria

3. Belgium : Kingdom of Belgium

4. Brazil : Federative Republic of Brazil (****)

5. Bahrain : State of Bahrain

6. Brunei Darussalam : Negara Brunei Darussalam

7. Canada

8. Denmark : Kingdom of Denmark

9. Finland : Republic of Finland

10. France : French Republic

11. Germany : Federal Republic of Germany

12. Greece : Hellenic Republic

13. Hong Kong : Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

14. Iceland : Republic of Iceland

15. Indonesia : Republic of Indonesia

16. Ireland : Republic of Ireland

17. Israel : State of Israel

18. Italy : Republic of Italy

19. Japan

20. Korea : Republic of Korea (****)

21. Kuwait : State of Kuwait

22. Luxembourg : Grand Duchy of Luxembourg

23. Malaysia

24. Monaco : Principality of Monaco

25. Netherlands : Kingdom of the Netherlands

26. New Zealand

27. Norway : Kingdom of Norway

28. Oman : Sultanate of Oman

29. Peru : Republic of Peru (****)

30. Philippines : Republic of the Philippines

31. Portugal : Republic of Portugal

32. Qatar : State of Qatar

33. Singapore : Republic of Singapore

34. Spain : Kingdom of Spain

35. South Africa : Republic of South Africa

36. Sweden : Kingdom of Sweden

37. Switzerland : Swiss Confederation

38. Turkey : Republic of Turkey

39. United Arab Emirates

40. United Kingdom : United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

41. United States of America

42. Vietnam : Socialist Republic of Vietnam

43. Czech : Czech Republic

44. Hungary : Republic of Hungary

45. Liechtenstein : Principality of Liechtenstein

46. Poland : Republic of Poland

47. Slovak : Slovak Republic

48. Slovenia : Republic of Slovenia

(****)Thailand holds bilateral agreements on visa exemption for holders of diplomatic, official and ordinary passports for a visit of not exceeding 90 days with Brazil, the Republic of Korea and Peru. Therefore, nationals of these 3 countries are exempted from visa requirements and are permitted to enter and stay in Thailand for a period of not exceeding 90 days.

For more information on countries that have bilateral agreements on visa exemption with Thailand, please see List of countries which have concluded agreements on the exemption of visa requirements with Thailand.

For further update, please proceed to Ministry of Foreign Affairs (http://www.mfa.go.th/main/en/services/123/15396-Tourist-Visa-Exemption.html)

Untitled Document

Short Links :

  TAT home
  Where to go
  Travel & Transport
  See & Do
  Food & Drink
  Contact TAT

Weather Report :

Contact TAT Malaysia :

Tourism Authority of Thailand, Malaysia
Suite 22.01, Level 22, Menara Citibank
165, Jalan Ampang, 50450 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: (603) 2162 3480
Fax: (603) 2162 3486
Email : info@tourismthailand.my
Social Media:


Location Map :

View Larger Map
     Copyright © 2019 Tourism Authority of Thailand, Malaysia | All Rights Reserved